ISTQB stands for International Software Testing Qualifications Board (ISTQB). It is an organization operates globally and founded in November 2002 in Edinburgh UK. It is a non-profit organization legally registered in Belgium.

ISTQB is responsible for the “ISTQB Certified Tester”. Once you clear the certification exam you will receive ISTQB certificate from the organization. It’s international level of certification and globally accepted by all level of organization.

Levels of ISQTB Certifications:

Level 1: Foundation Level

Certified Tester Foundation Level (CTFL)

Level 2: Advance Level

Certified Tester Advance Level (CTAL) – Test Manager

Certified Tester Advance Level (CTAL) – Test Analyst

Certified Tester Advance Level (CTAL) – Technical Test Analyst

Level 3: Expert Level

Certified Tester Advance Level (CTEL) – Improving The Testing Process
Certified Tester Advance Level (CTEL) – Security Testing (Planned for 2015)
Certified Tester Advance Level (CTEL) – Test Automation (Planned for 2014)
Certified Tester Advance Level (CTEL) – Test Management

Note: Organization has issued around 3 Lakhs of certification in 70 countries around the world.

Benefits of ISTQB:

Present yourself as a knowledgeable and skillful tester.
Could be act as a differentiator during the interview process.
Number of career opportunities and can expect improved remuneration.
Proudly place your “ISTQB® Certified Tester” logo on your resume.
It represents that you are aware of international standards of software testing.

How to start ISTQB Journey?

Level 1: It is expected that candidate should have at least 6 months of working experience in software testing.
Level 2: For appearing Advance level certification candidate must hold the Foundation Level Certification and 3 years of experience in Software Testing Industry.
You can appear any Sub Level of Advance Certification. There is no mandatory flow which you should follow.
Level 3: For appearing Expert Level Certification candidate must be Advanced Level Certified. At least 5 years of practical testing experience and at least 2 years of industry experience in the specific Expert Level topic